The International 2018 Closed Qualifiers: Teams

This weekend the open qualifiers for The International 2018 have concluded in all six regions, determining the teams that will compete in the closed stage of the qualifiers with the invited teams for their ticket to Vancouver, Canada, where the main event of this year’s competitive Dota 2 season will take place.

The open qualifiers were held on June 14-17. There were two open qualifiers in all regions, all of them followed a similar format: a single-elimination bracket, best-of-one series from the first round to the Round of 16, with the following series being best-of-three. Six teams qualifier from each CIS, China, North America and South America qualifiers, five teams advanced from Southeast Asia qualifiers, and only four teams made it through the qualifiers in Europe. Consequently, this is how the list of closed qualifiers participants looks:

Closed Qualifiers:

Bold teams were invited, while others made it through the qualifiers


(top team qualifies)


(top team qualifies)


(top 2 teams qualify)

Southeast Asia

(top 2 teams qualify)

North America

(top 3 teams qualify)

South America

(top team qualifies)

The Final Tribe Vega Squadron Invictus Gaming TNC Predator OpTic Gaming SG e-sports
Team Kinguin FlyToMoon Team Serenity Fnatic Immortals PaiN Gaming
Kingdra Team Empire Keen Gaming BOOM ID Evil Geniuses Infamous
Singularity Esports Double Dimension CDEC Gaming TNC Tigers compLexity Gaming Torus Gaming
OG ESPADA iG Vitality Alpha Red Team Baidu Thunder Predator
Wind and Rain Team Spirit For The Dream Entity Gaming Team Leviathan Midas Club
BlinkPool 20 min afk les LGD.Forever Young Battle Arena Elites VGJ.Storm
Alliance Gambit Esports Young Dumb Sterling Global Dragons TBD

The closed qualifiers are held on June 18-25. During the group stage all teams will compete in a single round-robin group with best-of-one series. Then top four teams will advance to the double-elimination playoffs bracket with best-of-three series. The grand finals in Europe, CIS and South America will be best-of-five, the finals in other regions will be best-of-three.

The International 2018 will be held on August 15-25 in Vancouver, Canada. Currently the prize pool is almost $15,000,000., Team Liquid, PSG.LGD, Team Secret, Mineski, Vici Gaming, Newbee and VGJ.Thunder secured their place at TI by acquiring enough Dota Pro Circuit points.