ELEAGUE Major Boston 2018: Preview

ELEAGUE Major Boston 2018: Preview

ELEAGUE Major: Boston 2018 kicks off tomorrow with 24 teams from around the world competing for their share of a $1,000,000 prize pool.

Recently ELEAGUE updated the format of the tournament, with the result that now the major consists of three stages and includes 24 competing teams. The first two stages are held in a swiss format and will feature 16 teams. During the third stage the top eight teams of the tournament will compete in a single-elimination bracket. To learn more about the swiss format, click on the spoiler below.

A graphical explanation of the Swiss System format

The New Challengers, January 12-15

The Offline Qualifier is now a part of the main event and is called The New Challengers. This stage will feature 8 teams qualified from the regional minors and bottom eight finishers from the previous major. They will play in a swiss format with best-of-one matches. Top eight teams will make it to the next stage, while the other teams will be eliminated. This stage will be held behind the closed doors at ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta, Georgia.


Qualified Teams:

  • Asia – Renegades, Flash
  • CIS – Avangar, QB
  • Europe – Space Soldiers, EnVyUS
  • Americas – Misfits, Liquid

Participants of the Previous Major:

  • Cloud9
  • FaZe Clan
  • G2 Esports
  • Natus Vincere
  • mousesports
  • Sprout (ex-Seed)
  • FlipSid3 Tactics
  • Vega Squadron

Schedule (UK Time):

Round 1, January 12

  • 15:00 – Vega vs Renegades
  • 16:15 – mouz vs Avangar
  • 17:30 – FaZe vs Liquid
  • 18:45 – FlipSide3 vs Misfits
  • 20:00 – Sprout vs Space Soldiers
  • 21:15 – Na`Vi vs Quantum
  • 22:30 – G2 vs Flash
  • 23:45 – Cloud9 vs EnVyUs

Round 2, January 13

Round 3, January 14

Round 4, January 15

Round 5, January 15

The New Legends, January 19-22

The New Legends stage was previously called the Group Stage. Just as the first stage of the tournament, it will feature a swiss format with best-of-one series and 16 participating teams: 8 teams from the New Challengers and the top eight finishers from the previous major. The best eight teams will make it to the next stage, while the other teams will be disqualified. This stage will take place at ELEAGUE Arena.



  • Gambit Esports
  • 100 Thieves (ex-Immortals)
  • Astralis
  • Virtus.pro
  • North
  • BIG
  • SK Gaming
  • Fnatic


Round 1, January 19

Round 2, January 20

Round 3, January 21

Round 4, January 22

Round 5, January 22

The New Champions, January 26-28

This stage was known as the Playoffs. It will feature eight best teams of the tournament competing in a single-elimination bracket with all series being best-of-three. The New Champions will be held at the Agganis Arena in Boston, Massachusetts before a live audience.


Quarterfinals #1-3, January 26

Quarterfinals #4 + Semifinals, January 27

Grand Finals, January 28

Use the promo code BOSTON18 to get special rewards for every stage of the tournament. Head over to this page to get more information!

Support 24/7