The International 2018: Invited Teams, Format and Qualifiers

As the final tournament of the current Dota Pro Circuit – China Dota2 Supermajor – has concluded, we now have the full list of teams that received direct invites by acquiring enough qualification points. In addition to it, Valve revealed the details on TI8’s format and its regional qualifiers.

After nine major and thirteen minor tournaments that happened during this season, the following teams managed to get enough Dota Pro Circuit points to be directly invited to The International 2018.

List of Invited Teams:

# Team Points
1 12372
2 Team Liquid 9459
3 PSG.LGD 7332
4 Team Secret 5136
5 Mineski 3150
6 Vici Gaming 2835
7 Newbee 2445
8 VGJ.Thunder 1935

Valve also revealed the details on the regional qualifiers for The International 2018. As usual, the qualifiers will be held in six regions: North America, South America, Europe, CIS, Southeast Asia, and China. The Open Qualifiers will be held on June 14-17, while the Closed Qualifiers will take place on June 18-25. This year only few teams have been invited to the closed qualifiers as in order to be eligible to receive the invitation the teams needed to keep their registered rosters, what many of them failed to do.


(top team qualifies)


(top team qualifies)


(top 2 teams qualify)

Southeast Asia

(top 2 teams qualify)

North America

(top 3 teams qualify)

South America

(top team qualifies)

The Final Tribe Vega Squadron Invictus Gaming TNC Predator OpTic Gaming Open Qualifiers x6
Team Kinguin FlyToMoon Open Qualifiers x6 Fnatic Immortals
Kingdra Open Qualifiers x6 Open Qualifiers x6 Open Qualifiers x6
Open Qualifiers x5

The main event will be held on August 15-25 in Vancouver, Canada. Its format will be the same as in the previous year. For the group stage, which will be held on August 15-18, the participating teams will be split into two round-robin groups with best-of-two series. Then top four teams from each will advance to the Upper Bracket, the teams placed 5th-8th will make it to the Lower Bracket, and the bottom team in each group will be eliminated. The playoffs stage will take place on August 20-25 at Rogers Arena and feature a double-elimination format, the first round will be best-of-one, the grand final will be best-of-five, the other matches will be best-of-three.

Support 24/7